Literary agent for children's books

Go back

Harold Jones (Estate)

Harold Jones was a painter, wood engraver and printmaker.
He started book illustration in the 1930s, using pen and ink, often with colour washes delicately applied. His lithographs for Walter
de la Mare’s THIS YEAR NEXT YEAR (1937) marked the emergence of a fresh talent in book illustration; and the flat colours strike the eye as something quite new.

LAVENDER'S BLUE (1954), illustrated by Jones with muted colours and shadows and texture created with cross-hatching, was included in the Hans Christian Andersen Award Honours list and received the American Library Association Award in the USA. It has remained in print for over 50 years, and Oxford University Press recently celebrated this anniversary. As well as producing picture books, Jones was prolific in black and white line, illustrating classic authors such as Oscar Wilde, Charles Kingsley and Lewis Carroll.
He died in 1992.

In 2013, Oxford University Press have published a new edition of JACK AND THE BEANSTALK, chosen and edited by Kathleen Lines, using the original Harold Jones illustrations.

Other titles by Harold Jones

Picture Books
A Happy Christmas
Noah and the Ark
Silver Bells and Cockle Shells
This Year Next Year

Fairy Tales of Oscar Wilde
The Waterbabies
The Hunting of the Snark

Jack & the Beanstalk

Lavender's Blue (written by Kathleen Lines)

There and Back Again

The Water Babies (written by Charles Kingsley)