Literary agent for children's books

Go back

James Reeves (Estate)

James Reeves was born near London in 1909. He began his writing career as a poet in 1936, and first turned his attention to writing for young readers in 1945. His first book of poems for children, THE WANDERING MOON, appeared in 1950. It was illustrated by Edward Ardizzone and was the beginning of a lifelong friendship and collaboration.

James Reeves published nearly 30 books of poetry, stories and anthologies for both adults and children. He was also well known as a literary critic and broadcaster. He died in 1978.

In 2013 OUP published a new paperback edition of STORIES FROM ENGLAND by James Reeves.

Other titles by
James Reeves include:

Poetry for Children:
The Blackbird in the Lilac
Prefabulous Animiles
Ragged Robin
The Wandering Moon

Pigeons and Princesses
Sailor Rumbelow and Britannia

Anthologies and retellings:
English Fables and Fairy Stories
The Forbidden Forest
The Golden Land